The Centurion’s Faith


Accounts in the bible are more than just stories. We read and even wonder in awe about the great deeds they showcase. One of these stories for me was the centurion,  whose faith got his servant healed. (Luke 7:1-10 ttp://www.biblegateway.com/pass age/?search=Luke%207:1-10&version=NIV ).

A few words brought this story home to me. The centurion’s faith not only got his servant healed, but also had Jesus admire and reference it as the greatest He had ever seen.~> Why is this account in the Bible? Is is here to bring shame on me or Jesus’ followers for not having such faith? No, I believe one of the main things Jesus wanted to showcase here was not how great this man’s faith was or to compare ours to it, but to show  how simple and powerful faith is.

So when he heard about

Jesus…

                  Bingo!

He heard about Jesus- faith came. 

 

He heard about Jesus!  The centurion acted on what he heard because he believed, expected something good to happen and it did. Faith comes by hearing… If my faith walk does not display what I hope for, it most likely has a lot to do with what I am  hearing. I know faith comes by hearing.

*The question is

Am I hearing about Jesus? 

I need to spend more time hearing about Jesus because it will have a great impact on my faith, what I say, do and get to accomplish for Him.

hc

Leave a Reply

