~ Facebook, The Time Thief ~


As I read the book of Job one thing stands out to me as one of  the main messages of this book; Job was not aware that he had an adversary. Being aware of the adversary is one thing, being aware of his devices is another matter entirely and poor old Job was ignorant of both.

As Christians we are taught about our enemy, the devil, and we are also aware that his mode of operation is to kill, steal and destroy. The problem is that most of us don’t realize that he has done those things until after the fact. We are so caught up in what we are doing, so engaged in our own agenda that we neglect to listen to that still small voice inside us that is screaming: “ITS A TRAP! STOP!”

One of the most precious commodities in this life is TIME and your enemy wants to steal it from you. Time is very much like currency. You receive a fresh stack of currency every day and how you spend and invest that currency will determine the quality of your life tomorrow. If you waste it all or make bad investments that currency is lost forever. If you continue to be a poor steward of that currency you will reach the end of your life with no increase, no impact on your circle of influence and no fruit for the kingdom of God. That is the devil’s goal.

We are in the information and communication age and we have a number of wonderful tools out there that can be very useful, especially to the kingdom of God, Facebook being one of these. Social networking is not a sin so don’t think I am implying that it is. I am just trying to make you aware that your adversary, the devil can very easily use Facebook, Twitter, or any social networking tool to steal your precious time.

Some of you already know this and I have great respect for those that have “taken a break from Facebook”. You don’t need to explain why, it is obvious. You listened to that still small voice inside you.

Time is very valuable. More valuable than money. Ask yourself this: Is spending hours upon hours a week on Facebook a good investment of your time? Is farmville or fishville or any of those other time thiefs really important to your future? Is there any value at all in it?

You see, it all comes down to value. What do you value? Value is determined by one thing and only one thing and that is: How much you are willing to pay for something. Are you willing to sacrifice your future? You have had the highest price ever paid for you. Jesus own blood purchased you for eternity.

I am not writing this to get everyone to leave Facebook. I am writing this because I don’t want the devil stealing from my friends and family.

JC

5 responses to “~ Facebook, The Time Thief ~

  1. Hi! I’m a college student at Texas A&M University.Some Christians here are doing something that is call the “Divine Experiment” – it’s a 21 day period where we not only fast from media and food (the intensity of the fast depends on the person), but also spend our time seeking after God’s face and studying His word. We pray together and worship every morning.
    One of the media aspects I’ve given up for this 21 day period is Facebook. It’s been 2 1/2 weeks and I can honestly say I don’t miss it. Everyone who needs to contact me has my phone number – and Facebook takes away so much time!
    I got really excited when I saw this post, because it is true! So, so true! We don’t realize how much time we waste looking at Facebook until it’s hours later and we glance at the clock. It truly is time wasted – we gain nothing from it! We only lose time that could have gone towards knowing our Creator.

    Thank you for posting this. Have a blessed day!
    Bethany

    • Thank you for your comment Bethany,
      Experts say that it takes 21 days to make or break a habit. We have also done some 21 day fasts at our church and the rewards have been great. I think you guys have a great idea there. My wife and I have taken breaks from FB before and now I only get on for a short time to manage my community page and check on family. It can be an effective tool … but it can be an addiction too.
      Unfortunately, people are being more distanced from each other in this culture and we are missing out on the beauty of relationships. Christianity is relational. Without that personal interaction I believe that there are realms of God that we never experience. We are His body, and the body parts MUST be connected so that each can bring and receive a supply of the Spirit. Without that supply, there is no “fullness of God”.
      Thanks again,
      Blessings.
      Jack

  2. Great post! A guy I work with just recently closed his facebook account because he felt it took much of his time away from him. Now, with facebook out of his life, he says that he gets much more accomplished.

    Phil

    • Thanks Phil,
      I too have much more free time now that I limit myself to how much time I spend on facebook. I just took two days off myself and have to say: I really didn’t miss it either. I did get to spend some precious time with some dear friends (IN PERSON) and I wouldn’t trade that face to face interaction for anything.
      God bless you bro.
      jack

  3. Phenomenal berkadown of the topic, you should write for me too!

Leave a Reply

