~ Praying To See How God Sees? ~


For years I prayed that God would help me see things, people and situations the way He sees them. That sounds like a pretty good prayer don’t you think? I did too, until recently the Lord told me NOT to pray that way any more. He said: “Instead, pray that you would see things the way I want you to see them.”

At first I thought, “Isn’t that the same thing?” But He showed me that it wasn’t. I saw that man is not capable of seeing the way God sees, the responsibility is far too great. To see the true heart of every person and all of the details about every situation, to see the cause and effect of everyone’s actions, not mention the future outcome, would be overwhelming and confusing. 

Talk about information overload! I was limiting God by praying for something that He was not able to give me. Thank God for His mercy! Praying beyond God’s ability to answer me was a new thought process all together. I had to reevaluate how I was praying about everything.

I now understand that we only need to see and know very little if we are living by faith. We are to walk in love believing the best of every person. If we saw what was in the hearts and minds of every person it would be hard to believe the best of them. We only need to know the next step, the rest we walk out by faith, trusting that God knows best and that He only wants the best for us.

The Word of God gives us plenty of instructions on how we should see things, and if Gods Word abides in us it filters everything we see with spiritual insight. I believe now that asking God to help me see things the way He would have me see them is another way of asking for His wisdom. It also removes a huge burden to understand every detail.

As Christians we are called to live a life of the Spirit. We should ALL be tuned in to ONE spirit, the Holy Spirit, and commit ourselves to His leading. When we do this there is no danger of mistakes and no need to understand every single detail.

Ephesians 4:4 There is one body, and one Spirit, even as ye are called in one hope of your calling;

If God gave us every detail of every situation we would have no need for faith, and without faith it would be impossible to please Him.

Hebrews 11:6 ~ But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him. 

Just knowing that God is pleased with faith gives me a sort of comfort when I don’t know the details of a situation. I embrace the opportunity to excercise and grow in my faith … to trust Him.

There is a passage  in Philippians that has come alive to me since I’ve had this revelation.

 Philippians 4:6-8 ~ 6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. 7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. 8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

You see, once we do verse 6 and 7, the burden of communication is on Him. In verse 8 it gives us the instruction on what to do while we are believing to be led by the Holy Spirit. We think on these things in verse 8 and it keeps us on the right frequency to receive the leading of Peace, it keeps us in faith and makes our walk pleasing to God.

We don’t need to see how God sees. We only need to see enough to take the next step. Sometimes that step may look like the wrong one in the natural. Sometimes that step will go against your understanding, but the Peace of God PASSES your understanding. This is why we must learn to be led by Peace.

Peace is a present day ministry of the Holy Spirit and is to be the arbitrator of our lives, sitting as ruler over everything and every decision.

Colossians 3:15 ~ And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful.

Bottom line? To really walk by faith we must understand Peace and its function in our lives. The more we walk in Peace, the less we will feel the need to know all the details. 

4 responses to “~ Praying To See How God Sees? ~

  1. Hey, nice post — I like how short it is, and to the point. I so agree that knowing everything (like God) is not even possible, much less good for us. Also, it is “He only wants the best for us” not “want’s”. I used to be a proofreader, so this comes naturally for me. Hope you are not offended. God bless.

  2. centrebet
    Hey, can I use your article on my website with a linkback?

Leave a Reply

