~ My Pet Sin ~


Galatians 5:16-18 ~ 16 I say then: Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. 17 For the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary to one another, so that you do not do the things that you wish. 18 But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law.

There is always a battle with the flesh to keep it under, to deny its right to act out, to keep it from having dominance in our lives. Your flesh will always be warring against the things of the Spirit and your flesh will always have a sin nature until it is glorified. Everyone MUST deal with this, even Paul the Apostle had these battles and he describes them in Romans:

Romans 7:16-23 ~ 16 If, then, I do what I will not to do, I agree with the law that it is good. 17 But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me. 18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find. 19 For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice. 20Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me. 21 I find then a law, that evil is present with me, the one who wills to do good. 22 For I delight in the law of God according to the inward man. 23 But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.

There is no magic pill or prescription that you can take so that  you will avoid this struggle with sin but here is a little tip to help you in your battle with the flesh. First you need to understand where those fleshly desires are coming from and then how to deal with them when they do. If you are struggling with a certain area and your flesh seems to be exceptionally strong and persistent in the desire to “act out” in sin you need to ask yourself honestly:

“Is this just the sin NATURE or is it because I have been NURTURING the desires? Have I been doing anything to feed that desire and make it stronger?”

There is a basic law in nature that also applies to spiritual things and the law is:

 “What you feed grows and what you starve dies.”

Denying your flesh the satisfaction of fulfilling its lust has the same results as if you stopped watering your plants, just like the plants get weaker and eventually die so will those fleshly desires.

The problem that most of us have is that we don’t realize that we are feeding our carnal fleshly desires or we think that what we are doing is no big deal. IT IS A BIG DEAL! Let me give you a some examples; If you have been delivered from drugs and you know that it has a strong pull on your flesh, any thing that would stir up old memories and desires should be avoided. Movies with drug abuse, fellowship with addicts, or even driving through the part of town where you used to buy drugs. If the shortest route to your destination is through an area that stirs up memories of past sins, TAKE ANOTHER ROUTE! Remember this saying, it has helped me:

“The long way is better than the wrong way.”

If you struggle with overeating, or eating junk food, it is much easier to win the battle if you stay out of the junk-food isle. If it stimulates ANY of your five senses, it WILL begin to pull on you.

If you think it is no big deal to be exposed to those things, or if you “think” you are strong enough to handle it. You WILL wake up one day and realize that the little fleshly desire that you used to have has grown into a monster and is demanding to be fed!

Remember that the flesh IS the sin nature and it is described as the enemy of the Spirit. So how are we going to win this war against the flesh? The rest of the passage from Romans 7 gives us the answer.

Romans 7:23-25 ~ 23But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. 24O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? 25I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.

God will deliver you from your enemies,

NOT YOUR PETS!

You must see your flesh as YOUR enemy. If you feed your enemy he gets stronger and has more power to do you harm. Remember, I am not talking about your physical body, but its sinful nature. DON”T FEED THE SIN NATURE.

The flesh is never satisfied, the flesh WANTS to sin. Remember:

“Sin takes you farther than you want to go, keeps you longer than you want to stay, and costs you more than you want to pay.”

Starve your enemy and FEED your spirit.

22 responses to “~ My Pet Sin ~

  1. I appreciate the insights. Very practical yet profound. I also enjoy the musical Little Shop of Horrors – what a great example of making your sin your pet.

    • Hello Mark,
      Thanks for reading the post, and thank you so much for your comment. You do know that you really “dated” yourself by even recognizing the monster from Little Shop Of Horrors? LOL. Yeah, that was cool musical.
      God bless you brother!
      Jack

  2. Amen… YOU CAN’T KEEP THE BIRDS FROM FLYING OVER YOUR HEAD, BUT YOU CAN SURE KEEP THEM FROM BUILDING A NEST IN YOUR HAIR! http://freebiblestudiesonline.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/daily-might-january-13/

  3. This is a cool post. As an early forties male I had lived my life embracing the pagan ways of the world that celebrate the flesh. It wasn’t until four years ago when I had a personal encounter with Jesus did I realise the destructive power of lust. And still, as Paul says, I do the things I don’t want to do. I really appreciate the plant pot and truism that those things you don’t feed starve, thank you.

    • Thanks creditaction,
      Most men struggle with lust because we are so visually stimulated, and yet few will admit that they have a problem. Two out of the three types of worldly sin are lust, (lust of the eyes, lust of the flesh, and the pride of life. 1JN 2:16)I think that may be significant. We may struggle with lust twice as much as pride.
      Thank you for visiting the site and thanks for the comments.
      Bless you.
      Jack

  4. I love the analogy of watering a plant, it is spot on! And I can see how it’s been true in my own life, too. I feel very encouraged by your post, so thanks for sharing 🙂
    God bless you
    Dominika

    • Thank you Dominika,
      I think it is probably true in all our lives. I know that I must make an effort to walk in this myself.
      Thanks for reading, and thanks for posting.
      Blessings 2U!
      Jack

  5. This is reasonable and well said. Thank you for the advice on dealing with sin.

  6. Thanks for giving the truth. We need to hear it in this generation. I am so glad that you mentioned not only the need to starve the flesh, but also to feed the spirit. One without the other brings little results.

    • Thanks revzacc,
      You are right, without feeding the spirit, the battle with the flesh is a loosing battle. The stronger our spirit is the easier the fight becomes.
      Thank you for visiting Truthpressure, and thank you for your comments,
      U B Blessed!
      Jack

  7. I’m fascinated that I wrote about the same verse in my latest blog post but took my reflections on it in a completely different direction…. Ah, the living Word!

  8. Great insight and visuals. Love the truisms as well. and now that God delivered me from the alcohol monster, others that are sot so conspicuous but still counterproductive are rearing their ugly heads… Slaying the dragons of the sin nature is an ongoing battle… Thank you Jesus that YOU have overcome the world!! Thank you.

    • dmwblue,
      Thank you so much for commenting. You are not alone in your struggle my friend. I find it interesting that we can be so easily delivered from what would seem to be a huge bondage like alcahol or drugs but struggle continually with seemingly little ones.
      Thanks again and U B Blessed!
      Jack

  9. Great post!

    I am one of the writer’s of a blog that two friends and I put together:
    coffeetheologyandjesus.wordpress.com

    The way I have always imagined what you described here is the picture of two dogs. One named Spirit and one named Flesh. Much like the Spirit and Flesh inside of us these dogs are always fighting! However, if I restricted the food I give to Spirit and give all the necessary food to Flesh then Flesh will easily beat Spirit in every fight! Adversely, if I feed Spirit well and starve Flesh then Spirit will constantly have victory over Flesh.

    Our spiritual life is no different. When we look at our appetite and see who is being fed (the flesh or the Spirit) it will be clear to us why our sinful nature or the Spirit keeps winning the battle. An appetite of sin filled T.V. shows and movies, bad jokes, and inappropriate activities doesn’t feed the Spirit. But keeping my mind in the Word, keeping my prayer life consistent, and meditating on Christ/God will make sure I can win those battles!

    Thanks for the encouragement and reminder!

  10. A question, not to call your faith into Question! but i have people in my Life who go to church & tell me they are filled with the spirit! how can this be? as if they were trully filled with the spirit? would that not make them Like Jesus, as what would then be the need for Pefected Man to walk Among them and heal them. Compassion is the highest form of Love which crosses or should do, all borders!
    So i find my self thinking that they are filled with commapssion/caring for others which is great!
    do you not wait for the For the Christ figure to return?
    it is true one Master the Body, the mind also.
    i look forward to the day when we do not need to live under the Law of Man as we then are with Gods law! Amen to those Days OF Loving your neighbour as you would love yourself
    Excuse any ignorance!
    THANKSx

    • Unityandequality,
      Thanks for your comment,
      The filling of the Spirit is not a one time event but an ongoing process. We must continually be being filled. Your friends have experienced what is commonly known as the baptism of the Holy Spirit. We live in a fallen and corrupt world that, like it or not, has a pull and an influence on us pushing us toward our fallen sinful nature. The we give ourselves to the things of the Spirit, the less we fulfill the desires of our flesh. No one is perfect but Jesus
      Jesus had the Spirit without measure. As believers we are members of His body and we should be ever growing and maturing into His likeness. We should be transforming gradually into His image and likeness.
      U B Blessed.
      Jack

  11. So true! We tend to feed and not starve the temptation and end up falling in to the sin very quickly.

    • Thank you First Southern Baptist Church,
      it is easy to fall into the trap of feeding your fleshly desires. I think we all must make a concious effort NOT to.
      Again, thank you for reading and commenting,
      Bless You.
      Jack

  12. The interesting thing about the sin nature is that it does to need feeding to exist. Whether you feed it or not it exist. We come fully equipped with our own lust and enticements that differ with individuals. The believer is sinless because of the blood of Jesus Christ who washes the sinner clean and we walk a more sinless path under the sun through the obedience of the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit leads, guides, brings conviction and we choose to follow his lead for a righteous lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

