~Hope You Guess My Name~


I have no respect for justice. I maim without killing. I break hearts and ruin lives. I am cunning and malicious and gather strength with age. The more I am quoted, the more I am believed. I flourish at every level of society. My victims are helpless. They cannot protect themselves against me because I have no face. To track me down is impossible. The harder you try, the more elusive I become. I am nobody’s friend. Once I tarnish a reputation, it is never the same. I topple governments, wreck marriages, and ruin careers, cause sleepless nights, heartaches, and indigestion. I spawn suspicion and generate grief. I make innocent people cry in their pillows. Even my name hisses. I make headlines and headaches. Who am I???? My name is Gossip. Before you repeat a story, ask yourself, is it true? Is it fair? Is it necessary? (author unknown)

Leviticus 19:16 You shall not go about as a talebearer among your people; nor shall you take a stand against the life of your neighbor: I am the LORD.

Proverbs 20:19 He who goes about as a talebearer reveals secrets;    Therefore do not associate with one who flatters with his lips.

Proverbs 17:9 He who covers a transgression seeks love, but he who repeats a matter separates friends.

Leave a Reply

