~Dying To Live, The Mystery of Christ~


dying-to-live

The Lord has been leading me on an amazing journey these last several years. For the most part it has been a journey of self-discovery, finding the truth of who I am in Christ, while also seeing the weaknesses and inadequacies in myself. As one revelation grows, so does the other.

Through this growth and discovery process I felt this constant need for MORE. More love, more faith, more power. As I asked questions of God and searched the scriptures for some kind of answer to my feelings of inadequacy, I found some shocking truths that have changed my entire perspective. Not to mention how I experience God on a daily basis.

To start with, my thought was that God should improve me. I prayed constantly for God to make me a better man, a better husband and father, a better minister, a better servant. I thought He should just download some love and power in my heart, some faith and holiness – and improve me.

Then it hit me: Self-improvement is NOT the answer, and God
will NOT improve your “self”. He has asked you to DIE to “self”.

i-die-daily-

Colossians 3:3 ~ 3 For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.

I had spent years of effort trying to improve a dead man, when all along I should have been focusing on putting on the NEW MAN!

Ephesians 4:24 ~ and that you put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness.

Colossians 3:9-11 ~ 9 Do not lie to one another, since you have put off the old man with his deeds, 10and have put on the new man who is renewed in knowledge according to the image of Him who created him, 11 where there is neither Greek nor Jew, circumcised nor uncircumcised, barbarian, Scythian, slave nor free, but Christ is all and in all.

Christ is the NEW MAN! Instead of focusing on the dead man, we should be focusing on the new man. It is Satan who wants to resurrect the old man who is full of sin and death. He knows he can’t conquer the new man in Christ, so he distracts us from developing in the new man by keeping our attention on the old dead one. Pretty slick.

Romans 13:13-14 ~ 13 Let us walk properly, as in the day, not in revelry and drunkenness, not in lewdness and lust, not in strife and envy. 14 But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to fulfill its lusts.

Galatians 3:26-28  ~ 26 For you are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus.   For as many of you as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ. 28 There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus.

We are made to be containers of God, carriers of Christ, allowing God to live through us, to express His love and power to a lost and dying world. This can only be accomplished by taking our place “IN HIM”. This is the mystery that eludes most Christians, that keeps them from walking in the fullness of God. To walk in the demonstration and power of God on this earth we must have a revelation of our identity IN Christ.

Colossians 1:27 ~ To them God has chosen to make known among the
Gentiles the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.

COLOSSIANS_MYSTERY_Web-2

Although it is a mystery, God is not hiding it from those who seek to walk in the fullness of Christ.

Galatians 2:20 ~ I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

3 responses to “~Dying To Live, The Mystery of Christ~

  1. Great post Jack,
    This day you must choose are you living for self or for Christ!

  2. Pingback: Dying to Live~A Murderers Vice | justAvoice4Him

Leave a Reply

