~ Don’t Vex Your Soul~


“Don’t break bread with a jackass!”

If you were raised in the country like myself, you may be familiar with this old saying. When I first heard it, I really didn’t know what it meant. I thought, “Why would anyone want to eat with a Jackass?” But then I realized, people do it all the time. The old saying simply means, don’t associate with fools, and don’t hang out with bad company.

I am not sure where this saying originated, but it is biblical. What we see and hear does have spiritual implications, and if we are hearing and seeing it constantly, being affected is inevitable whether it is good or bad.

1 Corinthians 15:33 ~ Be not deceived: evil communications corrupt good manners.

Living in the communication age, we are constantly bombarded with various forms of media designed to shock, stimulate and influence you to think and feel certain ways. It is extremely effective, and mans carnal nature hungers for this kind of stimulation. The more it is stimulated, the more it wants. The lust of the eyes and the lust of the flesh are never satisfied. (Proverbs 27:20)

Proverbs 13:20 ~ He that walketh with wise men shall be wise: but a
companion of fools shall be destroyed.

Certainly the company we keep matters. When I was first saved in 1988, I knew the Lord was leading me to separate from my old friends. However I did not obey those leadings and soon fell right back into my old destructive lifestyle. I had to learn the hard way. Later on, after I did separate myself from the “fools.” I took comfort in seeing examples of it in the Word. Samson was a great example of what NOT to do. 

Judges 16:15-1715 Then she said to him, “How can you say, ‘I love you,’ when your heart is not with me? You have mocked me these three times, and have not told me where your great strength lies.16 And it came to pass, when she pestered him daily with her words and pressed him, so that his soul was vexed to death, 17 that he told her all his heart, and said to her, “No razor has ever come upon my head, for I have been a Nazirite to God from my mother’s womb. If I am shaven, then my strength will leave me, and I shall become weak, and be like any other man.”

We are not supposed to be “like any other man,” we are called to be different. We should stand out. It should be easy for people to identify us at work or in the marketplace. We should be the ones that leave a conversation when it becomes inappropriate, take a stand for what is right, and refuse to take part in filthy conduct and things that are ungodly. If we don’t, we open ourselves up to torment and oppression. Not to mention bring a reproach on Christ.

Look at what happened to Lot:

2 Peter 2:6-8 ~ 6 and turning the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah into ashes, condemned them to destruction, making them an example to those who afterward would live ungodly; 7 and delivered righteous Lot, who was oppressed by the filthy conduct of the wicked 8 (for that righteous man, dwelling among them, tormented his righteous soul from day to day by seeing and hearing their lawless deeds)—

Lot CHOSE to dwell among the ungodly and it cost him big time. If it were not for Abraham, it would have cost him his life. We have a choice too, we always have a choice, remember that. If we are seeing and hearing filthy conduct and lawless deeds all the time, our soul will be vexed and tormented. The more we allow, the less sensitive we will be to the Holy Spirit.

Don’t be afraid to be different and take a stand for Christ. Don’t break bread with Jackasses, you have a choice. Instead, choose to enjoy the bread of life.

John 6:35 ~ And Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life.” He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst.

JC

2 responses to “~ Don’t Vex Your Soul~

  1. Won-DER-ful! Thanks! God bless, Carley

Leave a Reply

