~ The Principle of Daily Manna ~

          ~One night I was laying in bed thinking, “why have I felt so dry the last couple days?” I believe the Lord spoke to me and said “you didn’t gather the manna like you were told.”

         ~I had to stop and think about that for a minute. I didn’t remember God mentioning manna to me, not recently, NOT EVER. Then I remembered the children of Israel. While in the Wilderness of Sin, God rained down manna from heaven to sustain them every day, for FOURTY years. They were required to go out daily and gather this manna that fell in the form of little pieces the size of coriander seeds.

You could only gather as much as you could eat in one day. Any more and it would rot and produce worms. It was useless.

Exodus 16:4 ~ Then the LORD said to Moses, “Behold, I will rain bread from heaven for you. And the people shall go out and gather a certain quota every day, that I may test them, whether they will walk in My law or not.

God provided food to sustain them in the natural and to test them. I believe this is a type of what He has done with us spiritually. Many places in the Word we are commanded to DAILY be in His Word. Joshua is my favorite.

Joshua 1:8 ~ This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.

I know what the Lord was saying to me. I had not kept His Word in front of my face and in my mouth for the last couple days.

A few days ago I was up early, and while walking around in the dark I stubbed my toe and tore my little toenail completely off. If that has ever happened to you, then you know the degree of pain that kind of injury can produce. Being in pain and limping around, I really didn’t feel like doing anything. Including reading and confessing the Word of God which is my normal routine. I read a little here and there but I did not speak His word which is where the real power is.

           ~ So after two days of the “mullygrubs” I realized that the reason I was feeling dry and empty was not my toe being sore, but my spirit being empty.

         ~When something happens that would tend to throw you out of your daily devotion with God … that is the time that you should really press in. Manna needs to be gathered and digested daily. You can’t get by on yesterdays or last weeks manna, you will starve your spirit and become weak and dry. Furthermore, you can’t consume a weeks supply and expect it to carry you for  days without further exposure to His word.~

The bible is GOD TALKING TO US. His words are Spirit and they are Life. They are needed daily for our spiritual health and development. The Lord feeding the children of Israel with manna is a type of what we should be walking in today. We must put forth DAILY effort to ensure our spiritual health and growth. I love how Job says it:

Job 23:12 ~ I have not departed from the commandment of His lips; I have treasured the words of His mouth more than my necessary food.

Look at the language, “… treasured the words of His mouth…”  Every day should be a new treasure hunt. The value that you place on God’s Word is evident by the time you are willing to spend on it. One of the greatest investments you can make in this life is the attention that you give to His Word. We all need daily exposure and intake of the Word of God. Have you found your treasure today?

4 responses to “~ The Principle of Daily Manna ~

  1. everytime i read John 3:16, a new revelation of Jesus is revealed. this was the first verse I memorized when I was a child. the other is
    “Jesus wept”

    “Jesus wept” didn’t made sense, until one day i realized Jesus wept not just because He was human and loved Lazarus dearly,
    but also that “It was never part of God’s plan for man to die”

    God’s children are not to live on yesterday’s revelation, rather on fresh revelation everyday. God indeed does not give us yesterday’s blessing rather brand new blessings every day.

    John 11
    21 “Lord,” Martha said to Jesus, “if you had been here, my brother would not have died. – PAST
    24 Martha answered, “I know he will rise again in the resurrection at the last day.” – FUTURE
    25 Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life….”
    – NOW

    PAST “Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead”
    – Philippians 3:13

    FUTURE “Do not worry about tommorow”
    – Matthew 6:34

    NOW “Jesus said “I AM”
    – John 18:6

    “I AM the true bread that came down from heaven”
    – John 6:58

    great post.

    grace and peace

    Like

    • SBG ~ I love your reply, Jesus is always the “I AM,” present tense. I wish more people could see the depth of God’s Word like you mentioned here. No one has ever exhausted all of the light and revelation out even ONE verse of scripture. Even one as simple as “Jesus wept.” I bugs me when I hear someone say “I have read the bible”, Like they have completed something that doesn’t need to be repeated.
      If we approach the the Word with humility, with the attitude that it IS God talking to ME, we naturally develop a hunger, not just for His Word, but for understanding the heart behind it. God is so good!
      Thanks for the reply bro, and multiplied blessing to you,
      JC

      Like

  2. LOL, Are you severe?

    Like

  3. I too had manna on my mind today. So true that we need it everyday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

