~ My Pet Sin ~


Galatians 5:16-18 ~ 16 I say then: Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. 17 For the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary to one another, so that you do not do the things that you wish. 18 But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law.

There is always a battle with the flesh to keep it under, to deny its right to act out, to keep it from having dominance in our lives. Your flesh will always be warring against the things of the Spirit and your flesh will always have a sin nature until it is glorified. Everyone MUST deal with this, even Paul the Apostle had these battles and he describes them in Romans:

Romans 7:16-23 ~ 16 If, then, I do what I will not to do, I agree with the law that it is good. 17 But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me. 18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find. 19 For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice. 20Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me. 21 I find then a law, that evil is present with me, the one who wills to do good. 22 For I delight in the law of God according to the inward man. 23 But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.

There is no magic pill or prescription that you can take so that  you will avoid this struggle with sin but here is a little tip to help you in your battle with the flesh. First you need to understand where those fleshly desires are coming from and then how to deal with them when they do. If you are struggling with a certain area and your flesh seems to be exceptionally strong and persistent in the desire to “act out” in sin you need to ask yourself honestly:

“Is this just the sin NATURE or is it because I have been NURTURING the desires? Have I been doing anything to feed that desire and make it stronger?”

There is a basic law in nature that also applies to spiritual things and the law is:

 “What you feed grows and what you starve dies.”

Denying your flesh the satisfaction of fulfilling its lust has the same results as if you stopped watering your plants, just like the plants get weaker and eventually die so will those fleshly desires.

The problem that most of us have is that we don’t realize that we are feeding our carnal fleshly desires or we think that what we are doing is no big deal. IT IS A BIG DEAL! Let me give you a some examples; If you have been delivered from drugs and you know that it has a strong pull on your flesh, any thing that would stir up old memories and desires should be avoided. Movies with drug abuse, fellowship with addicts, or even driving through the part of town where you used to buy drugs. If the shortest route to your destination is through an area that stirs up memories of past sins, TAKE ANOTHER ROUTE! Remember this saying, it has helped me:

“The long way is better than the wrong way.”

If you struggle with overeating, or eating junk food, it is much easier to win the battle if you stay out of the junk-food isle. If it stimulates ANY of your five senses, it WILL begin to pull on you.

If you think it is no big deal to be exposed to those things, or if you “think” you are strong enough to handle it. You WILL wake up one day and realize that the little fleshly desire that you used to have has grown into a monster and is demanding to be fed!

Remember that the flesh IS the sin nature and it is described as the enemy of the Spirit. So how are we going to win this war against the flesh? The rest of the passage from Romans 7 gives us the answer.

Romans 7:23-25 ~ 23But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. 24O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? 25I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.

God will deliver you from your enemies,

NOT YOUR PETS!

You must see your flesh as YOUR enemy. If you feed your enemy he gets stronger and has more power to do you harm. Remember, I am not talking about your physical body, but its sinful nature. DON”T FEED THE SIN NATURE.

The flesh is never satisfied, the flesh WANTS to sin. Remember:

“Sin takes you farther than you want to go, keeps you longer than you want to stay, and costs you more than you want to pay.”

Starve your enemy and FEED your spirit.

One response to “~ My Pet Sin ~

  1. We are all sinners and fall short mainly because there are those things that we just aren’t ready to give up yet. http://www.godspromisedhealth.com/

Leave a Reply

